Jump to content

Welcome to NCLR - Northern California Land Rover Club
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account
Photo

New Driving law reminders

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1
Tracktorking

Tracktorking

    NCLR066

  • NCLR Guest
  • PipPip
  • 29 posts
This is a friendly reminder that California has enacted two new driving laws
that will go into effect on July 1st.

The first law limits the use of a cell phone while driving. Starting July
1st, drivers may only use hands-free cell phones. A first time offense will
result in a $20 fine and a $50 fine for each additional offense.

The second law bans drivers under the age of 18 from using a wireless
telephone, pager, laptop or any other electronic communication or mobile
services device to speak or text while driving in any manner, even
"hands-free".

Exceptions are made in both laws for emergency situations. For more
information on these and other California driving laws please visit the
following website:

http://www.dmv.ca.go...lularphonelaws/
Posted Image '89 Range Rover, Old Man EMU suspension, Garvin Safari Rack, Hella 500 and 700FF lights, Cobra CB

#2
keptin

keptin

    NCLR056

  • NCLR Guest
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts
*ARRHHGG!!!!* I could rant for 20 minutes about why I'm against this law, but instead I'm just going to sit in my chair and sulk for the next hour.
Josh Shapiro - DII
http://www.kep1.com

#3
esteban

esteban

    Stephen (NCLR049)

  • NCLR Guest
  • PipPipPip
  • 457 posts

*ARRHHGG!!!!* I could rant for 20 minutes about why I'm against this law, but instead I'm just going to sit in my chair and sulk for the next hour.


Well, hopefully there's a beer in your hand! Or even better, a scotch! :D
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Steve
Burninating the countryside!

#4
ChrisJB

ChrisJB

    Christopher (NCLR071)

  • NCLR Guest
  • PipPipPip
  • 290 posts
Thank god! I wish nevada would enact laws like this. My LR got rear ended this morning from some kid texting and not paying attention!! argh!

#5
HMBRover

HMBRover

    NCLR Guest

  • NCLR Guest
  • PipPipPip
  • 612 posts
I don't know if this is good or bad. At least with drivers holding handsets, you can tell what they are doing and stay away from them. If they are just talking to the sun visor, they still aren't paying attention but you can't tell. :D:D

Next will be hands-free GPSs and sound systems.
Brian
2004 Discovery II G4 Edition, "Jack" or "General Lee" or "The General"
KØDTJ
Avatar photo by Ron B; Oregon Discovery Trail 2008
NCLR019

#6
keptin

keptin

    NCLR056

  • NCLR Guest
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts

Thank god! I wish nevada would enact laws like this. My LR got rear ended this morning from some kid texting and not paying attention!! argh!


unfortunately, it doesn't even do that much. You're at no more risk to get a citation for texting than you were before the law was enacted.

Q: Does the new “hands-free” law allow drivers 18 and over to text message while driving?
A: The law does not specifically prohibit that, but an officer can pull over and issue a citation to a driver of any age if, in the officer’s opinion, the driver was distracted and not operating the vehicle safely. Sending text messages while driving is unsafe at any speed and is strongly discouraged.


I talked to the people on the floor while I was ranting about it to find out that 90% of the girls on our floor often text while driving. Idiots! I'm convinced this law will do little or nothing for the demographic it's trying to target as they will just either use their phones anyway (you can't stop them all) or put it on speakerphone. What frustrates me is that I'm a very competent driver and now I've got to go out to buy a headset; one more thing I've got to mess with while I'm driving. It's questionable whether talking with a hands free device makes a significant impact anyway on the safety aspects anyway.
Josh Shapiro - DII
http://www.kep1.com

#7
monty

monty

    Mike (NCLR031)

  • NCLR Guest
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts
from what i've been told, we can't use that for a reason to stop. there has to be something else to stop them for other than the simple cell phone use.

click free for link above

Wireless Telephone Laws FAQs
Two new laws dealing with the use of wireless telephones while driving go into effect July 1, 2008. Below is a list of Frequently Asked Questions concerning these new laws.
Q: When do the new wireless telephone laws take effect?
A: The new laws take effect July 1, 2008
Q: What is the difference between the two laws?
A: The first prohibits all drivers from using a handheld wireless telephone while operating a motor vehicle. (Vehicle Code (VC) §23123). Motorists 18 and over may use a hands-free device. Drivers under the age of 18 may NOT use a wireless telephone or hands-free device while operating a motor vehicle(VC §23124).
Q: What if I need to use my telephone during an emergency, and I do not have a hands- free device?
A: The law allows a driver to use a wireless telephone to make emergency calls to a law enforcement agency, a medical provider, the fire department, or other emergency services agency.
Q: What are the fines if I’m convicted?
A: The base fine for the FIRST offense is $20 and $50 for subsequent convictions. According to the Uniform Bail and Penalty Schedule, with the addition of penalty assessments, a first offense is $76 and a second offense is $190.
Q: Will I receive a point on my drivers license if I’m convicted for a violation of the wireless telephone law?
A: NO. The violation is a reportable offense: however, DMV will not assign a violation point.
Q: Will the conviction appear on my driving record?
A: Yes, but the violation point will not be added.
- more -
Q: Will there be a grace period when motorists will only get a warning?
A: NO. The law becomes in effect on July 1, 2008. Whether a citation is issued is always at the discretion of the officer based upon his or her determination of the most appropriate remedy for the situation.
Q: Are passengers affected by this law?
A: No. This law only applies to the person driving a motor vehicle.
Q: Do these laws apply to out-of-state drivers whose home states do not have such laws?
A: Yes
Q: Can I be pulled over by a law enforcement officer for using my handheld wireless telephone?
A: YES. A law enforcement officer can pull you over just for this infraction.
Q: What if my phone has a push-to-talk feature, can I use that?
A: No. The law does provide an exception for those operating a commercial motor truck or truck tractor (excluding pickups), implements of husbandry, farm vehicle or tow truck, to use a two-way radio operated by a “push-to-talk” feature.
Q: What other exceptions are there?
A: Operators of an authorized emergency vehicle during the course of employment are exempt as are those motorists operating a vehicle on private property
DRIVERS 18 AND OVER
Drivers 18 and over will be allowed to use a hands-free device to talk on their wireless telephone while driving. The following FAQs apply to those motorists 18 and over.
Q: Does the new “hands-free” law prohibit you from dialing a wireless telephone while driving or just talking on it?
A: The new law does not prohibit dialing, but drivers are strongly urged not to dial while driving.
Q: Will it be legal to use a Blue Tooth or other earpiece?
A: Yes, however you cannot have BOTH ears covered.
Q: Does the new hands-free law allow you to use the speaker phone function of your wireless telephone while driving?
A: Yes.
Q: Does the new “hands-free” law allow drivers 18 and over to text page while driving?
A: The law does not specifically prohibit that, but an officer can pull over and issue a citation to a driver of any age if, in the officer’s opinion, the driver was distracted and not operating the vehicle safely. Text paging while driving is unsafe at any speed and is strongly discouraged.
- more -
DRIVERS UNDER 18
Q: Am I allowed to use my wireless telephone hands free?
A: NO. Drivers under the age of 18 may not use a wireless telephone, pager, laptop or any other electronic communication or mobile services device to speak or text while driving in any manner, even hands free. EXCEPTION: Permitted in emergency situations to call police, fire or medical authorities. (VC §23124).
Q: Why is the law stricter for provisional drivers?
A: Statistics show that teen drivers are more likely than older drivers to be involved in crashes because they lack driving experience and tend to take greater risks. Teen drivers are vulnerable to driving distractions such as talking with passengers, eating or drinking, and talking or texting on wireless phones, which increase the chance of getting involved in serious vehicle crashes.
Q: Can my parents give me permission to allow me to use my wireless telephone while driving?
A: NO. The only exception is an emergency situation that requires you to call a law enforcement agency, a health care provider, the fire department or other emergency agency entity.
Q: Does the law apply to me if I’m an emancipated minor?
A: Yes. The restriction applies to all licensed drivers who are under the age of 18.
Q: If I have my parent(s) or someone age 25 years or older in the car with me, may I use my wireless telephone while driving?
A: NO. You may only use your wireless telephone in an emergency situation.
Q: Will the restriction appear on my provisional license?
A: No
Q: May I use the hands-free feature while driving if my car has the feature built in?
A: NO. The law prohibits anyone under the age of 18 from using any type of wireless device while driving, except in an emergency situation.
Q: Can a law enforcement officer stop me for using my hands-free device while driving?
A: No. For drivers under the age of 18, this is considered a SECONDARY violation meaning that a law enforcement officer may cite you for using a hands-free wireless phone if you were pulled over for another violation. However, the prohibition against using a handheld wireless telephone while driving is a PRIMARY violation for which a law enforcement officer can pull you over.
mike montero
'98 disco, RTE, 285's - el rober
'07 jk rubicon, stock - el jeepo
In memory
A. Stevens #13739
EOW 11-17-05


T. Diaz #140
EOW 6-15-08

#8
GriffSC

GriffSC

    NCLR Guest

  • NCLR Guest
  • PipPipPip
  • 711 posts
ultimately, i think little will be accomplished by these laws. think about the much stiffer DWI laws, do people still drink and drive?

driving is complicated enough without distractions from within the vehicle. there are reasons for laws against items hanging from rear view mirrors, heavy tinting, throwing garbage (cig butts), etc, but do people abide by them? do they get caught?

nearly every day i have to make some adjustment while driving in order to avoid a collision with another motorist. more often than not, the distraction is a cell phone or related item. however, it would be hypocritical of me to come down on these folks too hard because i, too, am guilty of using my cell phone while driving. i am not guilty of causing or nearly causing an accident... yet. but there is always that first time.

i have purchased the headsets for my wife and me and we will likely use them, if necessary. frankly, i do not like the idea of wearing a Star Trek transmitter, certainly not as much as some folks appear to. for me, i think it will actually serve as a deterrent for using my cell phone in the car. unfortunately, i don't think that's gonna hold true for the majority. maybe i'm just getting old....

#9
Gotrovr

Gotrovr

    Rover

  • NCLR Club Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,298 posts
I believe the real question here is while in the act of driving, does a disproportionate measurable level of distraction or diminished situational awareness exist while having a conversation versus not, and whether this disproportionality is discernable between direct communication with another person in the vehicle who is able to marginally increase the situational coefficient versus indirect communication with a person outside who is incapable of increasing the situational coefficient while using a cell phone regardless of whether either hands free or not?

Will

'05 LR3 HSE "Donkey"

'16 LR4 HSE  "Perseus"

Building a life journey one puzzle piece at a time

 


#10
GriffSC

GriffSC

    NCLR Guest

  • NCLR Guest
  • PipPipPip
  • 711 posts
okay, Will, put down the Monster energy drink, drive to West Cliff, park next to one of those window-less vans, and take a few deep breaths of the salt and rancid seaweed air.

#11
Gotrovr

Gotrovr

    Rover

  • NCLR Club Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,298 posts

okay, Will, put down the Monster energy drink, drive to West Cliff, park next to one of those window-less vans, and take a few deep breaths of the salt and rancid seaweed air.


It's perhaps that I'm feeling upbeat after taking Shrek on a late evening run with no apparent engine issues or codes.

I was concerned about engine or MAF damage after RR8. Basically my Disco has been sitting in the garage since then until last Saturday where I finally got around to pulling the air box and removing the residual oil accumulation within the sealed intake system including throughly cleaning the MAF and intake plumbing.

Will

'05 LR3 HSE "Donkey"

'16 LR4 HSE  "Perseus"

Building a life journey one puzzle piece at a time

 





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users